To leave a comment, click on the header. You have to be "in" the post for the comments to appear. THANKS!

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Happy Debut YA Book Birthday

Special birthday shout-outs this week to:

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey (not her 1st novel, but this is her debut YA):


"It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder. 
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.” 

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved. 

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart. 

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.
But she is also the younger of two princesses. The one who has never done anything remarkable, and can’t see how she ever will.
Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.
And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior, and he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.
Most of the chosen do.

I also want to give a special shout-out to a lovely author and friend, Willow Cross, who launched the second book in her The Dark Gifts Series, called Inheritance.  The cover rocks and I remember reading her first pages on #yalitchat and being blown away.  I can't wait to sink my teeth into my own copy!  


When Sarah and Jason Masada received an old house from an aunt they never knew existed, they were grateful for the blessing. Until they discovered the curse that came with being part of the Masada family--a full moon.

Intent on tracing their lineage, they descend into a world of lies, fear, ancient myths, and death. Indian hunters have tracked them to the family compound, Jason is wanted for murders he doesn’t remember committing, and their new-found family is on a mission to kill them. It seems their only hope for survival is to combine forces with two unlikely allies and trek across the globe to the place where it all began. Maybe there they can find a way to end it.

7 comments:

salarsenッ said...

Cold Kiss sounds interesting--a different take. Hmm...

Mary @ BookSwarm said...

GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS was really good! Happy birthday to all the new book babies!

Jen Daiker said...

I love that you do this! It always let's me know what's on the way out!!! Cold Kiss looks really intriguing!!!

khashway said...

Jessie, you keep my TBR pile overflowing!

Jessie Harrell said...

I know, Kelly. I'm not sure I'll get through all the books currently on my Kindle, and more awesome ones keep coming out every week.

Crystal Collier said...

Oh my goodness! These all sound so interesting. Updating to-read list now. =)

robinquinn said...

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey sounds very similar to my current WIP. I was relieved to read that they end up having a different theme.

Great reviews, as always.

Write well,
Robin

Post a Comment

I love hearing your thoughts! Thanks for dropping by.