To leave a comment, click on the header. You have to be "in" the post for the comments to appear. THANKS!

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Debut YA Book Birthdays ~ Week of November 19

I missed last week's post, but I had a good excuse… I was at Disney during the weekend, so I didn't have time to do my post.  If you're interested in the books that released last week, you can see a list here.  I'm back on track though, and since I'm in the birthday kind of mood (mine was Sunday), here is the debut YA book birthday this week.  What do you think?

HE SAID, SHE SAID by Kwame Alexander
Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance! He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike.
He says: Omar "T-Diddy" Smalls has got it made—a full football ride to UMiami, hero-worship status at school, and pick of any girl at West Charleston High.
She says: Football, shmootball. Here's what Claudia Clarke cares about: Harvard, the poor, the disenfranchised, the hungry, the staggering teen pregnancy rate, investigative journalism . . . the list goes on. She does not have a minute to waste on Mr. T-Diddy Smalls and his harem of bimbos.
He Said, She Said is a fun and fresh novel from Kwame Alexander that throws these two high school seniors together when they unexpectedly end up leading the biggest social protest this side of the Mississippi—with a lot of help from Facebook and Twitter.

The stakes are high, the romance is hot, and when these worlds collide, watch out!


Catherine Stine said...

This one sounds like it could be a popular read in schools. And I trust you had bog fun at Disney! I haven't been there since my boys were tots, but I have fond memories of it. Especially the bird kingdom area.

Catherine Stine said...

I meant BIG fun, not bog fun! Even though a lot of Florida is swampland. Which reminds me, our trip to the Everglades was amazing. Ever been there?

Jessie Harrell said...

I haven't been to the Everglades. I don't like things like bugs (mosquitoes, spiders, etc.), so I tend to avoid places like the Everglades. I know... I'm a bad Floridian!

Post a Comment

I love hearing your thoughts! Thanks for dropping by.