To leave a comment, click on the header. You have to be "in" the post for the comments to appear. THANKS!

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Debut YA Book Birthdays for the Week of April 8th

How is it the second week of April already? That's what I want to know... is the year flying by as quickly for you as it is for me?

In any event, here are the debut YA releases for the week:

NINE DAYS by Fred Hiatt

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped—and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story.


I'm not sure if this is more MG or lower YA, but it still sounds pretty interesting...

HAMMER OF WITCHES by Shana Mlawski

Baltasar Infante, a bookmaker’s apprentice living in 1492 Spain, can weasel out of any problem with a good story. But when he awakes one night to find a monster straight out of the stories peering at him through his window, he’s in trouble that even he can’t talk his way out of. Soon Baltasar is captured by a mysterious arm of the Spanish Inquisition, the Malleus Malificarum, that demands he reveal the whereabouts of Amir al-Katib, a legendary Moorish sorcerer who can bring myths and the creatures within them to life. Baltasar, of course, doesn’t know where the man is—or that Bal himself has the power to summon genies and golems. 

Now Baltasar must escape the Malleus Malificarum so he can find al-Katib and help him defeat a dreadful power that may destroy the world as they know it. As Bal’s journey leads him into uncharted lands on Columbus’s voyage westward, Baltasar learns that stories are much more powerful than he once believed them to be—and much more dangerous.


P.S.  I did see several debut MG novels coming out this week.  If you're interested, check out the Lucky 13s blog.

3 comments:

Beth said...

Those are different.

Kelly Hashway said...

These are both new to me.

C. Lee McKenzie said...

Thanks for posting about debut books, Jessie. It's good to see what's coming out. I'll have to check out Lucky 13's blog. As to the books, they both sound quite interesting. Good luck to the authors.

Post a Comment

I love hearing your thoughts! Thanks for dropping by.